The BBS Young Investigator Award was introduced in 2002 to celebrate an outstanding contribution in any area of biophysics made by a young researcher in the UK and Ireland. The Medal is awarded every two years. Neglecting any career breaks, the recipient must have completed their PhD within 10 years of 1st January of the year in which the medal is to be awarded.

The winner receives a cheque for £1000 and a medal to commemorate the event. The winner will be asked to present a lecture at a BBS meeting and the BBS will cover travel and subsistence costs for this meeting. Nominations for the this award should be sent to the BBS Secretary (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) by 28th Feb, and should consist of a 1-2 page summary of the nominee’s recent research highlights and recent key papers.


 Adam Perrimanwas presented with the 2016 BBS young investigator award during the BBS Biennial meeting at Liverpool for his work on the construction and study of novel hybrid biomolecular systems.

 Tuomas Knowles, from Cambridge University is the 2014 BBS medal winner. He was presented with the medal during the BBS Biennial meeting at Warwick this year for his work on the kinetics and thermodynamics of biopolymers.

 Marina Kuimova, from Imperial College, London, was awarded the 2012 BBS Young Investigator's Medal and Prize at the Durham BBS Meeting in July 2012, which attracted almost 200 participants. Professor Judith Howard, FRS, CBE, and Honorary Member of BBS, presented the medal and award certificate after the Plenary Lecture from Marina.

 Mark Leake from Oxford receives the 2010 BBS Young Investigators Award from the BBS Chair, Tony Watts. Mark presented a lecture at the 50th Anniversary meeting in Cambridge entitled “Illuminating the biochemistry of living cells one molecule at a time”. (Photo courtesy of Mike Ferenczi)

 Robert Gilbert received his 2008 BBS Medal at the Bio-nanotechnologies Meeting at Durham University which took place on 26th and 27th March. He presented a lecture entitled “Taking it apart and putting it back together: biophysics and the bionanotechnology of life.”

 Dr Lars Jeuken (University of Leeds) presented his 2006 award lecture entitled ‘Electrodes for redox-active membrane proteins’ at the 6th European Biophysics Congress of the European Biophysical Societies Association (EBSA) held at Imperial College London in association with the British Biophysical Society.

 Dr Mark Szczelkun from the University of Bristol receives his 2004 BBS Medal from David Trentham at the Response to DNA Damage: Insights from Chemical, Biological, Structural Biology and Cellular Studies meeting at the University of Sussex which took place between 19-21 September. He presented a lecture entitled “A molecular motor that introduces double strand breaks into DNA”. What are Mark’s thoughts about receiving the BBS Medal? “It’s nice to know your peers think you are doing the right thing!” he jokes. On a more serious note, Mark feels it is important for biophysics to get the recognition it deserves. And that’s certainly something the BBS agree with.

 Dr Julea Butt, from the University of East Anglia received her 2002 BBS Medal during the Biophysical Complexity meeting in Southampton. Her Award lecture was given after the ceremony and was titled ‘Resolving Natures Electric Circuitry in the Time and Electrochemical Potential Domains'