The British Biophysical Society (BBS) was founded in 1960: "For the application of physical and chemical concepts to biological systems". Today the BBS reaches around 500 members. Its committee meets three times a year, organizing and sponsoring both specialist and a major biennial meeting (in the years that EBSA does not have its congress).

The BBS is a registered UK charity, number: 254742.


Anthony Watts (University of Oxford) Chair
John Seddon (Imperial College London)
Jeremy Craven (University of Sheffield) Treasurer
Ehmke Pohl (University of Durham) Membership Secretary
Guy Grant (University of Bedfordshire) Meetings Secretary
Mark Wallace (University of Oxford) Webmaster
Gordon Roberts (University of Leicester) IUPAB Representative
Mark Leake (University of Oxford) Institute of Physics Biological Physics Subgroup Representative
David Sheehan (University College Cork)
Tharin Blumenschein (University of East Anglia) Secretary
Robert Cook (Heptares)
Syma Khalid (Southampton) Publicity Officer
Olwyn Byron (Glasgow)
David Scott (Nottingham)
Svetlana Antonyuk (Liverpool)
Tuomas Knowles (Cambridge)
Robin Leatherbarrow (Liverpool John Moores)
John Sanderson (Durham)